I immediately noticed that James is very passionate about guitar and music. He does a lot of study on his own in addition to the course work he had at DCC. He is constantly reading books on music theory, finding and trying new music and attending concerts. James has a thorough knowledge of the guitar fingerboard, and he reads well.

James impressed me from the start as an individual who is willing to go above and beyond.
— Award-winning fingerstyle guitarist, singer & songwriter, Helen Avakian
Read View reviews: in  
James Hart
3 reviews

REVIEWS

  • 5/5 stars - Wedding Ceremony Solo Guitar Music - Verified Review (WeddingWire)

    Lovely ceremony guitar music!

    James was a pleasure to work with and played exceptional wedding ceremony music (solo guitar). He arrived early and had a microphone handy for our officiant. He is friendly, personable, talented, professional and willing to learn new songs for your big day! I would definitely recommend James to play at your wedding or other event! 

    Carrie D. married on 09/21/2019

  • 5/5 stars - Wedding Ceremony + Cocktail Hour Solo/Duo (with Harp) Guitar Music - Verified Review (WeddingWire)

    Can I give 6 stars?!

    What can I say? This man feels like the brother I wish I had. He was so calm, cool and skilled playing and collaborating with our harpist on our special day. I knew from day one I can put my trust in James to open his mind and let him play his heart out and boy he did not disappoint. Thank you brother for everything! You are now family so expect to get phone calls about bbq's in the near future! Ha!! But seriously....he is amazing and his skill is uncanny! True professional through and through. He is the type of guy you can fully trust with your kids and that level of trust one cannot put a dollar value on. Go James!!!

    Ralph C. married on 06/01/2019 

  • 5/5 stars - Solo Musician Entertainment - Verified Review (Thumbtack)

    We hired James to play instrumental guitar for our mom's 100th birthday party. Frankly, he was great!
    On the day of the event he arrived on time, set up quickly, and got right to work.
    He played a wide variety of music throughout the afternoon including music from the 1940's, exactly as we had requested. 
    In addition to being a gifted musician, James was professional, competent and gracious to all of our guests. He was a pleasure to work with.  
    James, thanks so much for a job well done!

    Bill D. corporate event on 11/14/2015

  • 5/5 stars - Solo Musician Entertainment - Verified Review (Thumbtack)

    WELL DONE. THE PEOPLE ENJOYED HIS MUSIC.

    Drena C. event on 6/25/2016

  • 5/5 stars - Wedding Ceremony Guitar Music - Verified Review (Thumbtack)

    My wife and I hired James to play guitar for the processional and recessional of our wedding ceremony. We had very specific plans for the songs and arrangements we wanted to hear, and James was able to accommodate by learning and tweaking them in a very short amount of time. He communicated with us frequently throughout the process and sent us videos to make sure we were happy with the results.

    On the day of the wedding, he arrived on time and with the necessary equipment, and set things up with the coordinator/officiant so that we didn't have to worry about anything ourselves. And, of course, he played the songs exactly as we'd hoped, helping to make our ceremony a perfect and memorable one. James, I'm glad you found my listing here, and thanks for everything!

    Michael K. married on 7/13/2016

  • 4/5 stars - Orchestra/House Band Guitarist (Jazz/Big Band, Guest Entertainer Shows and Broadway)

    James is a good guitarist and soloist and works well with everyone to have the best possible performance.  He is always ready for rehearsals and works well in ensemble.  James understand how his performance impacts the guests satisfaction and works to add to the success of the orchestra.  James is very cordial with the guests. He easily converses with them and even gets some ''fans.''  James is very trustworthy and has a good sense of integrity.   James is passionate about his music and strives to learn more skills and building on those he has.  He definitely enjoys his work!  James reads well and improvises well; he is very easy to work with.

    Tina Marie L. - Band Master, Celebrity Millennium Cruise Ship, 9/30/2017 - January 21, 2018

  • 5/5 stars - Private Solo Guitar Music Entertainment - Verified Review (Thumbtack)
    Wanted to surprise my wife on our birthdays at a retreat in PAs poconos. Hired James and don't regret it! Came an hour early to set up. Very social and outgoing. Would definitely recommend and hire again!

    Alex G. event on 07/01/2018

  • 5/5 Doron, Bass Guitar Lessons, April 28, 2018

I had a great time learning bass with James. We're gonna be good buddies, since he's a metal head like me. Really awesome teacher.


Student Survey

Name *
Name
I feel my child(ren) and/or myself have benefited from taking lessons with James.
James made it a fun and enjoyable experience to learn music.
Communication was strong and check-ins were regular.
Thumbtack Best of 2016